Flipflops in the Rain


one year

one year ago, i moved back to the west coast.
i lived with my parents.
i started a new job.
i turned a long-distance relationship into a very short one.
i turned short-distance friendships into very long ones.
i rekindled long-term traditions with my childhood best friends.
i had big expectations.

today, i’m not moving anywhere.
i live alone in the city with my loyal fluffball.
i love my job.
i have moved on from the relationship i thought was meant to be forever.
i miss my east coast friends every minute of every day.
i love my west coast friends even more every minute of every day.
i have no more expectations.

in one year, i have learned to take risks.
i will go back to europe in five weeks.
i will run a half-marathon in three months.
i will probably adopt another fluffball in six months.
i will graduate with a master’s degree in 18 months.
i will learn to create a decent meal in 24 months. maybe.
i will take each day one step at a time.

6 Comments

Rock on. I think I need to buy you a drink! We need to make that happen sooner rather than later.

Comment by Stevie

❀

Comment by Suburban Sweetheart

❀ you!

Comment by Berrak - DC Princess

Yay honey!!!! You also need to keep blogging! Miss you on the BEST coast. πŸ˜‰

Comment by Write Gal

I love this πŸ™‚ And fully intend to celebrate all of these things with you over a drink, outside, this summer, in your town πŸ™‚

Comment by doniree

Your East Coast friends miss you too 😦

But this was awesome, I like the recap even though I wish you would write more πŸ™‚

Comment by Rach




Comments are closed.



