Flipflops in the Rain


all the cool kids read
June 29, 2010, 12:21 pm
Filed under: a few of my favorite things, geek chic, the cat's meow | Tags: , ,

i’m a bit of a book worm. i don’t mention it much (maybe only once?), but i’m pretty content wrapped up in my down comforter with a good book in one hand, a wine glass in the other and a fluffy cat in my lap. even better, subtract the comforter and lap cat and add a sea of bubbles and candlelight.

since moving back to a small town with not a lot to do and my books all packed away until i move into my own place in FOUR days, i’ve rediscovered the wonderfulness that is the library. these days, if i’m at home with some time to spare, i’m reading rather than watching guilty-pleasure tv.

a sneak peak at my (embarrassingly girly) bookshelf*:
-Spooky Little Girl by Laurie Notaro.
-Best Friends Forever by Jennifer Weiner.
-Pretty Little Mistakes by Heather McElhatton.
-The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger.
-A Stopover in Venice by Kathryn Walker.
-Confessions of a Rebel Débutante by Anna Fields.
-Pretty in Plaid by Jen Lancaster.

any suggested reads? (i’ve placed a hold on the crazy popular The Help by Kathryn Stockett and The Girl Who Played with Fire by Stieg Larsson.)

*apologies: i’m sorry, but i’m far too lazy to link to all of these. you can find them all by plugging these titles into a nifty tool i like to call google.

3 Comments

I just finished “Little Bee”, which is one of the greatest books I’ve ever read. It’s an incredible story of survival, love, loyalty and heartbreak. It’s really intense, but it’s written beautifully and is a quick read.

For some really interesting historical fiction, try “Molokai” or “Honolulu” by Alan Brennert. Both are wonderful stories, and the history is really interesting (I lived in Hawaii as a kid and have always enjoyed Hawaiian history. These stories are very accurate.)

Comment by Stevie

Chocolat by Joanne Harris (yes, as in the dvd you have that you STILL haven’t watched)

Shadow of the Wind and The Angel’s Game both by Carlos Ruiz Zafón. Shadow is a little intense, but good and twisty. Takes place in 1940s Barcelona and the city is like its own character.

And of course, the Sookie Stackhouse books. Things get so much better in the books. NekkidEric!!

Comment by pithycomments

I know This Much is True by Wally Lamb (its like 897 pages, it will keep you entertained,I’ve read it twice…ANYTHING by Jen Lancaster (LOVE her!) Any Chelsea Handler book for quick-funny reads…Any Jodi Picoult book (My Sisters Keeper is my fave)…lemme know if you run into any other good ones…I just got reacclimated to the library (aka got my fines taken care of) and am currently reading Moose by Jennifer Weiner. Oh! Freakonomics was really interesting too 🙂

Comment by Rach




Comments are closed.



