Flipflops in the Rain


i avoided the cliche postal service reference here — you’re welcome.

the movers are here. they’re packing up my stuff, and i’m blogging and watching step 2 and trying not to cry.

i’ve been able to keep my emotions in check a lot better than i ever would’ve expected during the past few weeks (minus the incident where i threw my jack down and fled the room at my birthday party this weekend, but that’s beside the point). i attribute this to the fact that i’m incredibly excited to begin a new adventure and that i’m confident that moving back west is the best decision for me at the moment. i also attribute it to the fact that i have the most amazing, wonderful, awesome friends in d.c., and they’ve held my hand every step of the way.

but now, it’s just me and my cat and some anonymous movers and lots of cardboard boxes in a house that’s echoing from the emptiness on the walls. the move is finally real. and i’m really, really sad.

d.c., i’ll miss you and the cherry blossoms and the thunderstorms and the brunches and the dance parties and even the super-annoying tourists. but because some of the best people in the world still live here, i know i’ll be back to visit soon. and for that, i’m really, really happy.

/end emoliciousness. (and pithy/coffeeonwheels, i didn’t cry while writing this. fyi.)

8 Comments

There’s still time for a last minute visit to the old office stomping grounds (you can even bring Bizzi in). Or… or! you can come to my summer yard party in June/July/August when Amber visits. Or just wait 2.5 years. Thanks for the great memories, or lack-there-of, over the weekend and best wishes for a safe trip out West.

P.S. – Say ‘cheers’ to Carl for me.

Comment by coffeeonwheels

You are walking toward a new adventure – go forth and prosper! I love you xoxo

Comment by Write Gal

riiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiight. If I had been w/ you I would have been crying…because of having to watch Step 2

Comment by pithycomments

*SOB*

You better be back. Like, soon. Because if you’re not, we WILL come find you.*

*Threat, not promise.

xoxo

Comment by LiLu

You’ll be missed!!! Safe travels!

Comment by Marie

Have a safe trip home!

Comment by SarahBeth

I hope your trip back and your re-fresh start are great.

Comment by OG

I don’t like this.

Comment by Maxie




Comments are closed.



