Flipflops in the Rain


home is where my family is…

… and that is in the Northwest.

i moved to the d.c. area on a whim three years ago. ok, that’s a lie. i moved here for my job, but that sounds a lot more boring.

while i loved the change in pace, the rush of adventure i got from moving 3,000 miles from everything i knew and loved, it took me a solid year to get my feet on the ground and build a foundation here. if you read through some of my first posts,Β  you’ll see that i was on a never-ending roller coaster. so much has changed since then. i’ve met so many wonderful, fantastic, amazingly awesome people who mean the world to me. but i was never meant to permanently live here.

so i’m doing something about it, and as the cherry blossoms bloom this april, i’ll be flying across the country on a one-way ticket home.

20 Comments

Congratulations, lady πŸ™‚ I know this was important to you! Can’t wait to come visit you!

Comment by Doniree

I liked this, until I reached the last sentence: “one-way ticket home”. I hope there are at least a few return visits planned over the next 10 years. Oh well, at least now I will know someone when I move back to my “home”-town out West… Looking forward to living vicariously through your adventures!

Comment by coffeeonwheels

Oh wow honey! I’m all about following your heart. AND HELL YEAH WEST COAST. K sorry caps attack.

Comment by Liz

I’m definitely sorry to see you go but that just means I have one more reason to come to see Seattle!!

When are you leaving?

Comment by DCPrincess

You, me and a potato pizza is in store when you come up here (you’ll do that soon, right?) It’s on me.

Comment by Lauren

Can’t wait to see you!

I called dibs first. Just saying.

Comment by CuteMonkey

Wow, wow, wow. Big changes. Can’t wait to hear more. Also, you’re much closer to Nor Cal now, yay!

Comment by Amy --- Just A Titch

Happy for you, sad for my city that will get a little less interesting with your departure.

Comment by restaurant refugee

Wow, how exciting! I’ll bet you are so happy to be heading back πŸ™‚

Comment by stealthnerd

I AM NOT HAPPY.

Comment by Maxie

Good for you lady – this is great news πŸ™‚

Comment by walkingonsunshine18

I’m equally very very sad (for me) and very very happy (for you)! I will miss you terribly…make sure you have a comfy ::insert sleeping surface here:: for me with plenty of allergy meds for when I invade Washington….State that is… :\

Comment by Rach

I second Maxie, BUT I am still excited about the cherry blossom festival and April brunch activities coming up. It will be bittersweet!

Comment by Anna

😦

Comment by Malnurtured Snay

I am soo excited for April 7th! Al, I may beat you to her :o)

We will be welcoming you HOME with wide open arms!

Comment by Erika

I… how did I not actually know that you lived here???

Good luck with the move – I think I may be heading back to the Buckeye State come fall…

Comment by Suburban Sweetheart

Oh my goodness, this is so exciting! Please get a hold of me when you get back, I’d love to get together and catch up!! πŸ™‚

Comment by SarahBeth

[…] Posts if you don't know, now you know…home is where my family is…a thirst for vampire arti never make time to write here…and so the lion fell in love with blah […]

Pingback by a conversation i’ve had with almost everyone in the past few weeks « Flipflops in the Rain

[…] out my dear, dear friend and partner in crime Flippy is moving back to the west coast in just a few weeks.Β I cried for days! Kidding. I am sad over the loss of one of my top 5 favorite […]

Pingback by i hate so much… » Holy Hiatus, Batman.

[…] have more fun but they spend a lot more money, credit cards, finances, money sucks, washington dc i moved away from D.C. because it was the financially responsible thing to […]

Pingback by the part about my cross-country move that i didn’t tell you. « Flipflops in the Rain




Comments are closed.



