Flipflops in the Rain


SADness and lethargy
October 28, 2009, 6:59 pm
Filed under: fear and loathing, perfectly impossible | Tags: , , , , , ,

i could go on and on linking to previous posts about how much i hate the fall/winter, bad weather and overall mood-swinginess i suffer from four to six months out of the year, but i won’t. (well, that’s a lie. i spent about five minutes doing it.)

for four to six months out of the year, i ache. i cough. i whine. i sleep. repeat.

i eat. i laze. i bitch. i sleep. repeat.

i lack creativity. i lack motivation. i lack hope.

FOR FOUR TO SIX MONTHS OUT OF THE YEAR. that’s pathetic. and unacceptable. and i’m ready to turn it around.

but i can’t figure out how. (see above.)

i know that exercise leads to energy — but i can only muster the energy to work out one to two times a week. (the second workout usually consist of lazy-girl’s yoga, which means i spend 10 minutes stretching and rolling around on the floor while my cat stares at me in confusion.)

i know waking up first thing in the morning and ignoring the snooze button increases this much-needed energy, but gawd! that extra 20 minutes of sleep feels sooo good and my bed is sooo toasty.

i know caffeine ultimately depletes my body’s power, but i can’t function like a normal human without it.

i know a lot of things about this disease they call SAD, but i don’t know where to start the recovery process. if someone has some tips, i sure could use them.

also, i lack so much creativity that i just used thesaurus.com far too many times.

14 Comments

Have you tried alcohol? Maybe add in some Red Bull for energy?

When in doubt, drink up.

Comment by Matt

I know what will help. Brunch on Saturday.

Comment by I-66

I suggest power drinking.

Comment by justjp

I’m with you, I feel the same way about fall and winter. I hate people that love this weather. This year I’m looking into herbal remedies, my dad takes St. Johns wart, but be warned if you take birth control it will interact, I’m looking into Sam-E which is a natural supplement that is supposed to help. Other than that, I’ve determined I should move, I’m thinking Arizona, who’s coming with me? 🙂

Comment by rondamarie

balls. using an online thesaurus is a symptom? i wore out Merriam-Webster this morning.

Comment by f.B

Stop hitting the snooze button!

Comment by Poem

i LOVE that the first three comments are about boozing. I like your style, boys.

@rondamarie: thank you! i’ll look into those remedies.

@f.B: yup. i totally just diagnosed you.

@poem: i don’t waaannnnnnnnnnnaaa. (this morning, i hit snooze for 50 minutes. that may be a record.)

Comment by flipflopsintherain

I’ve finally accepted that it is highly likely that I also suffer from season depression. Living back on the wet side of the Pacific Northwest has only made it worse. A big help for me has been to start taking 1000 IU of Vitamin D daily. I also try to take a break and go for a walk outside, even in the rain, or even sit in a building with a lot of natural light. Hang in there. I know how hard it can be.

Comment by allegories

I suffer from this 12 months a year and I have found that being in denial about your bleak future, drinking heavily, and having sex with emotionally unavailable men helps.

Comment by tejasflood

I’m so with you. I disagree on the snooze button. I think when it’s dark more, we should sleep more. Why fight it? (Unless all you’re doing is sleeping.) I say get more sleep and plan a vacation to a sunny spot ASAP.

Comment by lacochran

Awww… boo-urns. I hope that the winter months fly by for you! My advice is to keep hitting the snooze button, it’ll always make you feel better to get a couple extra minutes to rest!

Comment by walkingonsunshine18

yep. definitely drink more.

or drink emergen-c. it works for me. i sound like a commercial now.

Comment by Maxie

I have issues with the winter time, too, but it’s a lot easier to not get bogged down here since the weather doesn’t change so much.

Whenever I’m feeling down and out, though, I always like a hot cocoa or a bowl of soup to warm my spirits.

Comment by E.P.

Kinda late response, but I was just browsing and wanted to chime in, cause I toooootally relate. Living in Seattle gets real miserable for me right about this time of year. At first it’s all exciting to have cozy fall weather, then by mid-October I’m completely sick of it and the horrible realization that this is going to continue until freakin’ April. AHHHH!

Booze helps but then it makes me feel depressed even more when I realize how much time/money I’ve spent drinking. Exercise definitely helps, but for some reason getting motivated is the most difficult ordeal in the world.

Basically, we’re screwed!!! I’m moving back to California next year.

Comment by emily




Comments are closed.



