Flipflops in the Rain


little [woman] lost and… some overdue shout outs

it rained last week, and i didn’t want to wear flip flops. either i’m getting older or i’m completely losing my sense of self.

i’ve gotta say, the past six months have been a roller coaster. well, ok — the last 26 years have been a roller coaster. i’m highly sensitive to boredom and completely overemotional. these traits do not a fun blog make.

however!

in the past six months, i’ve met several lovely people through the d.c. blogging community, and each of them has (unknowingly) motivated me to dip my toes back into the interwebz water and keep writing. So, without further ado, i’m going to put off writing one more day, and finally pass on some bloggy love:

Pithy: Thanks for making me watch gilmore girls and reminding me that highly caffeinated and random rambles are still pretty cool.
Maxie: You’re one awesome, crazy biatch. And yes, I find that inspirational. Your blog posts are legeennnnnnndary! (if you don’t know what that means, give me back my dvds immediately.)
Lilu: Without you and your 1,000+ blog subscriptions, I never would’ve discovered such a tight-knit group of debauchery-loving writers. i love the wide range of topics you cover, and i love you, man.
doniree: I love that you have the follow-through and determination to take on so many amazing projects. i imagine you’ll travel to d.c. someday for one of your adventures, and I can’t wait to finally meet someone I’ve been readingย  for ages.
Lemmonex: Your openness and honesty have always been a breath of fresh air, and you have a way of making the most painful words sound beautiful.
Katherine: Come back. We miss your stories.
Malnatured Snay: Thank you for always letting me know people care about what I have to say. Even if they don’t, it’s quite encouraging.
Vagabondventures: I miss you, but you make me want to drop everything and follow my dreams. Someday, I will…
DC Princess: I know we just met, but I love that you’ve created a blog community from scratch. You, my dear, can totally achieve anything you put your mind to.

some honorable mentions to some long-time bloggy friends: Je, Castlemonkey, Paolo, WriteGal, GeekGiant, CoffeeonTwoWheels and Woolls.

you all rock my socks off. except i’m not wearing socks. you get the gist.

9 Comments

Lovely lady, I miss you too! To think I had never read a blog before I crash-landed in Lanham that fine December day back in 2007 is just amazing. Thanks for introducing me to the Internet and all her power and glory.

And don’t forget that when you do decide to “drop everything and follow your dreams,” I’ll be holding up a marathon spectator-esque placard reading “Go Flippy! You can do it!”

Comment by amberskinner

This just put a huuuuuuuuuge smile on my face ๐Ÿ™‚

I’m so glad we met too…and please please write more often!!

Let’s hang out soon,k? K.

xoxo

Comment by PQ

And to think I wasn’t going to open my reader today. Goddamned ennui.

never doubt the power of the Gilmore.

Comment by pithycomments

Oh, I was so happy to see you pop up in my reader this morning, and THIS makes me want to cuddle your face off. Thanks so much for the shout-out, and you can bet my travels will take me to DC sooner than later ๐Ÿ™‚ xoxo ๐Ÿ™‚

Comment by doniree

I was worried when coach skinner started blogging more than you, but she has no love for the Conan, chuck norris beards, or Brand New so you’re still OK in my blogroll.

Comment by coffeeonwheels

No, I’m not crying. I was just chopping an onion.

YES, AT MY DESK.

And yes, I am *that girl* at work.

<3<3<3<3<3

Can't wait to see you soon, my love!

Comment by LiLu

@Amber You’re the best cheerleader ever — I can totally hear you routing me on from Paris!

@PQ Glad to hear it! And yes, let’s get together soon.

@Pithy I’d say “muahahaha,” but you could just throw it back at me for turning me into a GG Monster.

@doniree My face would love that and now expects it when you come to DC.

@Coffee Because you said three of my favorite things in one comment, I added your much-needed presence to my post. LOOK!!

@LiLu Chopping onions at your desk is a really effective way to stay separated from your coworkers…

Comment by flipflopsintherain

You will get those dvds at the wedding.

Promise.

Comment by Maxie

Awww, I’m glad you’re posting again. ๐Ÿ™‚ Although, honestly, it continually surprises me — like when I log onto Reader for the first time in two weeks and you’ve posted like six times and my first reaction is to message Pithy to make sure you didn’t, in fact, die, and your blog hasn’t been taken over by a spambot or somethin’.

Comment by Malnurtured Snay




Comments are closed.



