Flipflops in the Rain


crawling out of my skin.
May 21, 2008, 3:48 pm
Filed under: fear and loathing, perfectly impossible | Tags: , , , , ,

i’m often overcome by a feeling of needing to shed my skin and run away from myself. kind of like a snake only less creepy. it usually comes about if:

–i’ve been sitting in one place too long (i’d like to think 45+ hours a week in front of a computer will do that to almost anyone);
–i want to strangle some annoying co-worker(s) who won’t.stop.talking.louder.than.my.ipod.can.play (i’d like think being cooped in the same building with said obnoxious people for 45+ hours a week will do that to almost anyone);
–or i’m just absolutely, positively, ready-to-move-away-and-never-ever-come-back bored with my life (which happens more frequently than i’d like to admit).

today i’ve remembered there’s another time i want to shed my skin. when my skin not only doesn’t want to shed me, but it loves me so much, it wants to amass into larger growths of skin, preferably of the red, bumpy, disgusting, pimply kind right in the middle of my face.

i’m 25 (gah!) — when will i outgrow the remnants of my painful adolescence?

7 Comments

“It rubs the lotion on it’s skin.”

When you’re done shedding your skin, can I have it for my makeshift Cari suit?

Comment by Poem

OK… maybe now it’s creepier than the snake. 😉 And, yes. Of course you can!

Comment by flipflopsintherain

if i had one wish i’d want flawless skin. i understand this…i’ve got sensitive skin and when one pimple starts its like the second it goes away a new one is taking it’s spot. arghhh!!

Comment by libby

“–or i’m just absolutely, positively, ready-to-move-away-and-never-ever-come-back bored with my life”

Move back here and get a job at Taco Time, so you can satisfy my mexi fry needs.

Also, that skin you’re shedding, I called dibs before Haiku. With it’s glowing white girlness, it would look lovely in front of my fireplace as a rug. I’ll just say it was a baby polar beaw. 😀

I tease, I’m sure you can hardly notice this alleged blemish. Try an ancient aboriginal cure of rubbing bacon grease all over it. Mmmm. Bacon.

Comment by Smugmonkey

“–or i’m just absolutely, positively, ready-to-move-away-and-never-ever-come-back bored with my life (which happens more frequently than i’d like to admit).”

Oh man. I’m right there with you.

Comment by Lauren

[…] the area and explore. in addition to the thrill i get from mini-adventures like this, it keeps the skin-crawliness to a […]

Pingback by ‘the girl who insisted on coming here’ « Flipflops in the Rain

[…] crash headfirst into bed and not wake up for days. until i can catch a break from the work-related stressors, i prefer not to spend my down time staring at a computer screen. instead, i’ve been filling […]

Pingback by on hiatus « Flipflops in the Rain




Comments are closed.



