Flipflops in the Rain


i declare tomorrow keep your thoughts to yourself day

(not intended for the easily offended.)

i’d like to think i’m a pretty good listener and an even better friend. but as of late, it seems that more and more people are discovering this, which leads to more and more conversations about negative topics, which leads to more and more negative thoughts infiltrating *my* outlook on life. which, in turn, makes me whiny, bitchy and annoying. like right now.

for example, this is what my inner dialogue looks like:
i don’t care that you don’t have any money right now. welcome to my life.
i don’t care that you hate your job. 50 to 99 percent of all americans do, too.
i don’t care that you have a troubled love life. hi, my name’s flippy, and i’m a recovering love-aholic with a side of unavailable men and reckless decisions.
i don’t care. i don’t care. i don’t care.

so for the next 24-36 hours, my ears are off limits. unless you wanna tell me how pretty i am.

(end rant.)

7 Comments

That was so cutely bitter.

But I agree that misery loves company. I can put up with it for so long before I perform a little surgical removal of those parasitic morsels from my life.

Comment by The Write Gal

that…is awesome and how i feel toward my friends 3/4 of the time. especially this one friend…who i’m not friends with anymore. Gooo figure 🙂

Comment by legallyheidi

I would never, ever ask for your opinion on anything. No worries. =)

Comment by Paolo

But what about when your boss asks you to work on a saturday night AND a holiday? mmhmm. (not that having extra long “weekends” away from work aren’t appreciated 🙂

OR when you get all excited about the new chipoltle, but find out there’s a 30 minute wait? Those are both worthy complaints of being shared by all…that and FAIL’s

Comment by bedouin sherpa

Hey! First come first serve. I was whining before any of these new people got here. I got dibs.

I will *try* not to whine during the next 36hrs in celebration of Be-Nice-To-Cari Week. Btw, you’re pretty (retarded). 😀

Comment by SmugMonkey

Ahhh, I know that feeling all too well! You want to be there for your friends, you do, however sometimes you just don’t want to listen to negative crap anymore.

Ugh.

Comment by Lauren

Um I’m fairly sure I told you how pretty you were earlier today and I fed you yesterday ! Please can’t I whine.. PLEASE! Just kidding:)

Comment by thisgirl




Comments are closed.



