Flipflops in the Rain


my idea of beautiful

i have a tendency to obsess over things when i decide i like them. today’s happy obsession is the dedication page in my next literary conquest, “extremely loud and incredibly close” by jonathan safron foer. It reads:

To Nicole,
My idea of beautiful.

It’s so simple, yet it makes my whole heart smile inside.

And it makes me think of all the niceties in life that encompass my personal definition of beautiful…

(in no particular order) the word “beautiful”. bizzi. blank journals. brand new lyrics. smoothies. yoga. golden retrievers. italy. sandy white beaches. sunshine. mojitos. cozy hoodies and loose-fitting sweatpants. black and white photography. big earrings and gaudy accessories. pedicures. wine tasting. exploring. laziness. san francisco. snail mail. flip flops. enchanted. lake chelan. super duper happy pink. naptime. this picture. a good book. dolphins. people watching. forehead kisses. hugs from my nieces.

… and so on, and so on.

5 Comments

Jesse just read that book and liked it.

My idea of beautiful: Waking up in my Bellingham apartment to find Cari still asleep on the couch, surrounded by a couple empty bottles of Riesling and a Blockbuster dvd of SATC. What would I always do next? Oh yeah, cleaning, otherwise known as “anything to get my mind off the hangover.”

Love you!

Comment by Anna

I read that book last year. I LOVED it. It’s on the top of my list.

P.S. You and I are so much alike.

Comment by 20-Something

don’t forget brand new down comforters from affluent relatives

Comment by bethers

or tshirts from friends who rock.

Comment by SmugMonkey

[…] chic,the cat's meow i’m a bit of a book worm. i don’t mention it much (maybe only once?), but i’m pretty content wrapped up in my down comforter with a good book in one hand, a […]

Pingback by all the cool kids read « Flipflops in the Rain




Comments are closed.



