Flipflops in the Rain


inspired but cheap.

since my grandmother’s departure, all i’ve wanted to do is stock up on paint supplies, yarn and beads to embark on a period of creative expression. i’m feeling crafty, i’m feeling artistic and i’m feeling alive with the need to just make things. Unfortunately for me, the nearest craft store is nowhere near convenient and the knitting supplies i need are gonna cost me upwards of 50 bucks — twice the price of just buying a mass manufactured scarf from Urban Outfitters.

So instead, i found some old colored pencils and drew a picture.

it’s hideous.

8 Comments

oh nonsense, I’m sure its quite creative.

I know the feeling and I’ve learned that even though I should be working on or doing something else, it’s best to run with it. It’s when I do my best, when the vibe hits.

You should take a picture of it and let us compliment you…

Comment by Al Castle

I’ve been wanting to buy a coloring book and crayons, just for the sheer pleasure of coloring. And to see if I can stay within the lines any better than when I was a child.

Comment by pithycomments

Will you draw me a picture for my cube? I would love to display your artwork.

I have tons of paint and sketch pads if you would like to draw more. They are from back when I used to paint,draw and generally be inspired by things… you knwo before I got old and bitter.

Comment by twogirlsviews

Al-sy (doesn’t have the same ring as Smugsy, but whatever), this picture actually was quite creative. It something that I’ve been crafting in my head for a week or so now. The drawing is more of a sketch and towards the end, I started scribbling all over the page. I hope to paint it when I get the supplies and then depending on how it turns out, I’ll post a pic.

Pithy, coloring books would be a great idea for the office actually. Think of all the stress you could get out while talking to difficult clients! Maybe I’ll invest in some for the team.

TGV, I’d love to make you picture — and I’d even more so love to steal some supplies from you. And you’re not old. Just bitter. Soooo different.

Comment by flipflopsintherain

Hey! I want a picture too!

Comment by SmugMonkey

help yourself. OOH.. if you act now, I won’t even have to move it to the new place…

Comment by twogirlsviews

think of the fun I would have with a Barbie coloring book and a “special needs” client.

Comment by pithycomments

post creation numero dos, pretty please

Comment by air e kuh




Comments are closed.



