Flipflops in the Rain


tiny steps and nerdy habits.

my grams is in town.

every time i say that, people around me groan. but the thing is, my grams is pretty effing fabulous. she travels the world regularly and forces me to eat ice cream. she’s the first in line for wine tasting at whole foods and doesn’t seem to sleep. truth be told, she’s wearing me out a lil.

but having her here allows me to embrace my less conventional and mildly nerdy side. i was in bed by 10 on saturday, i’m dying to start knitting again and i’m already halfway finished with ‘love in the time of cholera,’ a book i was just about to shelve. she reminds me that it’s okay to slow down and admire the scenery. she reminds it’s okay that i’m the only one of her grandkids who’s still single (and that it’s okay to admit that was even a concern for that itty bitty millisecond). she reminds me i still have time to learn to cook and paint and write the World’s Greatest Novel That’s Only Slightly Based on Real Events. she reminds me of the woman that i hope to some day be.

it’s almost 8:30. time to curl into bed, lose myself in a tragic love story, sob all over my cat and hopefully be asleep by 9. i have to finish this book before the weekend — grams and i are headed to Colonial Williamsburg for a brief history lesson Saturday.

6 Comments

I’d love to meet her she sounds like a great person and influence.
Infact she sounds perfectly impossible šŸ˜€

ps
being the only single one is good for you. I’m still hoping you turn into the crazy cat lady.

Comment by Smugmonkey

smug,
never, eva, EVER tell a single woman that she has potential to be the Crazy Cat Lady! šŸ˜‰

Comment by 20Something

He just says that because he wants me to adopt his cats when he gets too old to take care of them in the next few years…

Comment by flipflopsintherain

šŸ˜¦ I’m still pretty hot for an old man. But yes I want you to have my Izzy when I start pooping myself.

Comment by Smugmonkey

[…] 23, 2008 since my grandmother’s departure, all i’ve wanted to do is stock up on paint supplies, yarn and beads to embark on a period of […]

Pingback by inspired but cheap. « Flipflops in the Rain

I miss grams & summertimes on lake chelan

Comment by air e kuh




Comments are closed.



