Flipflops in the Rain


the midge who stole christmas.

Christmas is in six days, and i have yet to feel the holiday spirit. maybe cuz i’m thousands of miles from home. maybe cuz i haven’t started shopping. maybe cuz i don’t have any decorations. maybe cuz i forgot to take my cat to petco for santa pictures. whatever the case, i’m a real scrooge.

hearing other people talk about their holiday plans and larger-than-life gift lists is just making me Uber Depresso Supremo (as some might phrase it). the inevitable dysfunction looming in my very, very near future has left me numb to the ho-ho-hoing and caroling going on around me. even the fifth of vodka i scored at our department gift exchange didn’t change my demeanor.

i think my heart has shrank three sizes since last december…

6 Comments

Did it have to shrink to fit with your midget self. Cheer up! If scoring the fifth of vodka (um you’re welcome) didn’t help, try drinking it. I love you:)

Comment by twogirlsviews

If vodka can’t cheer you up, I don’t know what can.

Comment by Paolo The Italian Battalion

Forget the vodka. Dress yourself and Bizzi up and either go get your picture taken with a mall santa or have someone take a picture of you guys. Then frame it. That’ll be a good memory. Besides these people with their plans and gifts – it’s all just filler for the fact that they don’t have a beautiful fluffy cat like yours in their lives.

I know i’m jealous.

Comment by SmugMonkey

I think you need to move somewhere the sun shines almost daily…

Comment by Anna

[…] 20, 2007 i came home intent on telling you all the real reason i lost my christmas spirit — it was sucked out dry by the miles and miles of red brake lights lined up in front of me on […]

Pingback by ‘love actually’ crushes the soul. « Flipflops in the Rain

aw. Big hugs from Ferntucky.

Comment by Poem




Comments are closed.



